The Cayman Islands joins CTO

The Cayman Islands joins CTO

The Commonwealth Telecommunications Organisation (CTO) welcomed the government of the Cayman Islands as an ICT Sector Member at a virtual induction meeting that was held on 23rd of September. Led by the Secretary General, Ms. Bernadette Lewis, the CTO delegation presented the work and mandate of the CTO to the Cayman Islands Government team headed by Ms Leyda Nicholson-Makasare, Chief Officer (Acting), Ministry of Planning, Agriculture, Housing, and Infrastructure.

The Cayman Islands, located in the western Caribbean Sea, is the most populous self-governing British Overseas Territory. With a population of 65,000 the Cayman Islands span 102-square-miles and are made up of three islands Grand Cayman, Cayman Brac, and Little Cayman. The country is vulnerable to tropical storms, and resilient telecommunications infrastructure is needed to sustain the islanders lives and livelihoods.

In September 2021, the Caymanian government confirmed its intention to increase eGovernment services and establish digital verification for citizen identity. This initiative will enhance eGovernment services, making government practices fit for purpose in the 21st century.

The Secretary General shared the new course for the CTO to support its members with their digital transformation programmes and to have a measurable impact in member countries.

The Ministry of Planning, Agriculture, Housing, and Infrastructure will represent the Cayman Islands as the ICT Sector member of the CTO. Ms Nicholson-Makasare expressed the team’s appreciation for the opportunity to learn about the CTO and noted that the CTO’s strategic vision was in keeping with the goals of the Cayman Islands.

CTO looks forward to working with the government of the Cayman Islands to ensure that the digital transformation programme is delivered as a national development priority.